UNPAN Middle East



SDGs indicators as an input-output system: A novel approach to utilize interlinkages between SDGs indicators for impact assessment and projections (2020)
Sustainable development goals, as its name indicates, are all about widely understood economic and social development. Consequently. the number of links between the SDGs goals, targets and indicators is vast and there is number of papers trying to systematize and evaluate this topic. Within the SDG system, there are 17 goals and 169 targets, so there are 14196 potential interlinkages between them, if interlinkage is defined as symmetric relation and 28392, if the relation is asymmetric. Read more
Key Issue: SDG 16, MENA
Resource type: Publication


Innovative Practices


In promotion of quality, performance and competition between administrative bodies and individuals, ARADO adopts the awards’ system since 2001. ARADO manages a number of specialized awards. Also, the Organization provides an award for Arab Governmental Administration and “Sharjah Fiscal Award”. ARADO further offers the support required to develop and follow up the implementation of specialized awards by carrying out all the tasks related to establishing new awards in addition to managing and developing existing awards.



JUNE 2020

Expo 2020 Dubai
Our once-in-a-lifetime celebration – the largest event ever staged in the Arab world – is set to welcome 190 participating countries, and millions of visitors from across the globe. Here they will experience warm Emirati hospitality at its finest, as well as the UAE’s values of inclusion … Read more



Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia (ESCWA)
The purpose of the Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia is to raise the level of economic activity in member countries, strengthen cooperation among them, and promote economic and social development in the region. ESCWA activities are coordinated with the divisions and main offices of the Headquarters of the UN, specialized agencies, and international and regional organizations, including the League of Arab States and its subsidiary bodies, and the Gulf Cooperation Council. ESCWA comprises 18 Arab countries in Western Asia: Bahrain, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, Oman, Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, the Sudan, the Syrian Arab Republic, Tunisia, the United Arab Emirates and Yemen.